Learning How to Blog

Last week I was fortunate to attend a couple of workshops and a presentation by George Couros. He inspired me, and many others, to blog as a public record of our professional learning and the things we are doing in our classrooms. As well as being a record it is also a reflective tool that can be used to refine practice and cement learning.

After hearing and seeing some of the ways that blogging is used at Parkland Area School, and having my attention drawn to this blog by pernilleripp via Twitter, I thought I would begin my blogging journey alongside my students.

The students have just finished reading the novel The Ink Bridge by Neil Grant. They are now going to be set a series of topics to blog about based around the themes from the novel. I have drawn up an assessment rubric that relates back to the literature and litercay strands of the Australian Curriculum. Students will be assessed on the following: their response to the theme as presented in the text and in a broader context; their ability to create meaningful text (including the application of word processing functions), and their interaction with other students through the posting of meaningful comments on each others work.

I am hoping that through blogging my students will gain the following skills:

  • to give and recieve constructive feedback from peers
  • create meaningful written dialogue
  • improved editing
  • view their own writing more critically
  • empathy

(adapted with permission from pernilleripp)

I, and my students, have signed up with edblogs; however as I and my class are new to blogging posts are not visible for the public to view. When I have finished the unit I may seek permission from some students to publish their work publically on the internet – but for now it’s just our class.

It has taken more class time than I would like to get everything ready to go; however all students started their first posts today and they are looking forward to reading each others work and discussing the themes of the text on the shared site. I’m looking forward to reading what they have to say.

4 thoughts on “Learning How to Blog

  1. I love that you are doing this along with your students. Powerful role modelling! Kudos to you 🙂

    Thank you for sharing!!!

    • I know – but small steps… I didn’t want to concern parents at this early stage. As I become comfortable with blogging myself I’m sure it will eventuate. Interestingly enough – the students are already a little nervous that the whole class can read and comment on their work. Although not public, the wider audience is motivating them to write as well as they can.

Leave a Reply

